Moving Out!

Posted on August 9, 2014

0



I’m outta here! You can now find me at www.charleshuette.com

After a couple of years at this site, I’m moving into another web space that might be a better fit for my interests. As both a teacher and a learner, my interests and focus have been steadily expanding and unfolding, so that “video teacher” does not very accurately describe me, my interests, or my work. (It never really did, but I tried to abide by the blogger mantra to be focused. But it’s hard for me. I’ve always been a generalist and a maximalist.)

The new site will feature a few things that are just getting off the ground:

  1. The notebook project. For the last few months, I’ve been planning a project to explore notebooks as “cognitive extensions,” tools we use to extend our mind’s reach (through recording, reducing cognitive load, metacognition, among others). The project will entail research, short films, and possibly even an exhibition at some point. So that’s coming.
  2. A gallery of visual work. I draw a lot of pictures, make a lot of short films and animations, and take a lot of photos. Occasionally people ask to see this aspect of my work, so there is a gallery of work.
  3. A blog. If you came here because of a blog post, you’ll still find that part of my work on the other site. I’m still figuring out exactly how I want it formatted, but there’s a blog where I post about teaching stuff, but also about other things that happen to grab my attention. Because the site isn’t focused around my work as a “video teacher,” blog posts about books I read and other non-teaching projects will make more sense.

Anyway, if you’ve followed this blog, thanks. It will still remain here, and I’ll probably revise and repost some of these short essays to the other site, so don’t be angry if you see a rerun over there.

Best,

Charlie

photo credit: planetschwa via photopin cc

Posted in: farewells, random